SR22 Insurance Certification in the Virginia State

This article will aid its readers in getting relevant information regarding the implementation of the SR-22 insurance certification in the state of Virginia. First thing to be clarified here is that an SR-22 insurance certification is not an insurance policy itself, as it is usually misunderstood, rather it is just a proof of financial responsibility.

An SR-22 certificate establishes the fact that the insured person has adequate minimum liability coverage as per prescribed by the law of the state of Virginia. Similarly, this article will clarify confusions and provide vital information regarding the SR-22 insurance certification in the context of the Virginia State.

SR-22 insurance certification in the state of Virginia

The imposition of maintaining a SR-22 insurance certification is in the pursuance of a driver or vehicle owner being convicted of the following:

  • Forging an insurance certificate;
  • Fails to pay damages or penalties ordered by court judgements;
  • Driving an uninsured motor vehicle;
  • Unable to provide appropriate proof of maintaining an adequate insurance policy;
  • In addition to the aforementioned convictions a driver or vehicle owner facing a suspension of his or her driving privileges due to being convicted under the following:
  • Manslaughter: regardless of it being involuntarily or voluntarily, it should be caused by driving a motor vehicle;
  • Perjury:
    • Submitting a false affidavit while registering a motor vehicle with Department of Motor Vehicles, Virginia;
    • Providing false details in application for acquiring a driving license;
  • Felony punishable under Virginia motor vehicle laws or felony carried out using a motor vehicle;
  • Using passenger motor vehicle for commercial transportation activities without proper license, for more than one time;
  • Unable to stop the motor vehicle and disclose his or her identity after being involved in a vehicular collision which caused injury to or death of a person or persons.

Minimum liability insurance coverage for SR-22 certificate in the state of Virginia

In the Virginia State, as per the section 46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia, the minimum liability coverage limits of motor vehicle insurance policy for fulfilling SR-22 requirements are as follows:

SR-22 Insurance Certification in the Virginia State
  • $30,000 – in the event of causing bodily injury or death of a person in vehicular crash;
  • $60,000 – in the event of causing bodily injury or death of two or more persons in a vehicular crash;
  • $20,000 – in the event of causing damage to property in a vehicular crash.

It is to be known here that these limits are applicable only till December 31st, 2024 and beyond that starting from January 1st, 2025 the limits will be as follows:

  • $50,000 – in the event of causing bodily injury or death of a person in vehicular crash;
  • $100,000 – in the event of causing bodily injury or death of two or more persons in a vehicular crash;
  • $25,000 – in the event of causing damage to property in a vehicular crash.

FR-44 insurance certification in the state of Virginia

FR-44 is required when a vehicle owner or driver is convicted under the following offences:

  • Driving under influence of alcoholic beverages or DUI and driving while intoxicated using narcotic substances or DWI
  • Grievously injuring others while driving under influence;
  • Driving with forfeited driving privileges due to either being ‘convicted’ as an adult or pronounced ‘not innocent’ as a juvenile;
  • Guilty of violating any:
    • federal law provisions;
    • other US State’s law;
    • valid local ordinance of similar nature.

Minimum liability insurance coverage for FR-44 certificate in the state of Virginia

FR-44 insurance certificate requires minimum liability insurance coverage limits are to be doubled of what are required for the fulfilment of SR-22 insurance certificate requirements. These coverage limits are in accordance with the section 46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia.

SR-26 and FR-46 form for motor vehicle insurance certification in the state of Virginia

Both of these forms, respectively for SR-22 and FR-44 insurance certification, are submitted by the insurance provider to the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia to validate the request of unlinking the aforementioned financial responsibility certificate from the associated motor vehicle insurance policy.

Penalties on non-compliance of the mandatory motor vehicle insurance requirements

The Virginia State imposes severe penalties on drivers and vehicle owners due to non-compliance of mandatory motor vehicle insurance requirements. It can be subjected to facing:

  • temporary deactivation of associated vehicle’s license plates;
  • permanent surrender of associated vehicle’s license plates.

In order to avoid such consequences the vehicle owner or driver need to maintain a valid insurance policy with adequate liability coverage as per the legal requirements of the Virginia State.

In case of the said insurance policy gets terminated, cancelled or lapses during the vehicle registration period then the vehicle owner need to get new insurance policy at the earliest opportunity or make payment of the uninsured motor vehicle fee of $500 to the Department of Motor Vehicle in Virginia to avoid the aforementioned consequences.

Effects of making a payment of the uninsured motor vehicle fee to the in Virginia DMV

The uninsured motor vehicle fee of $500 which is paid to the Department of Motor Vehicle in Virginia allows the vehicle owner or driver to drive an uninsured vehicle on the public roads of Virginia without facing any legal consequences. However the said fee isn’t a motor vehicle insurance policy therefore in the eventuality of an accident by such vehicle will result in payment of the compensation to the aggrieved party by the vehicle owner or driver himself or herself.

Leave a Comment